Wales v England countdown!

I am currently sat watching South Africa v Samoa, great game so far, massive for both teams too. It’s a great appetiser for what’s to come this evening…Wales face England in Twickenham in what will be a hugely decisive match for both teams.

I’ve been in work until 4pm today, and from about 2 o’clock the shop was virtually deserted. The build-up to tonight’s game has been going on for weeks, months, years even, and I already sense that Wales – and I’m sure much of England too – will be on absolute shutdown come 8pm tonight.

There are so many intriguing sub-plots that it’s difficult to know where to begin: The overall record between these two teams is almost neck-and-neck; recent form seems slightly in England’s favour; Wales’ build up has been dogged with injury. Selection has been massive too, with Stuart Lancaster interestingly fielding Owen Farrell and Sam Burgess in the starting line-up. Could the pressure be too much for the hosts? So many questions, not long to wait for the answers!

I’m going to predict a narrow Welsh victory, 23-19.

Emily is sat beside me, my wife, a massive rugby fan from Dorset. We both have our jerseys on ready for the game (she is wearing an England one). She claims to predict a bonus-point win for England by more than seven points, thus denying Wales a losing bonus point. I can’t see it myself – I think she’s just putting the cat amongst the pigeons!

Whatever the result, it’s sure to be a great game and – as always – a fantastic occasion.

Come on Wales!!!!!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

